Friday 10 January 2020

Demonbracket 2020 preview

It's the most wonderful time of the year, when we invite you to make a judgement about which Melbourne player you prefer, based on whatever arbitrary criteria is most important to you.

It's the only democratic institution that you can still have faith in. It's Demonbracket. And the ninth edition of football's original grand slam kicks off on Monday 27 January.


  • The voting criteria for each match-up is your personal business. It need not have anything to do with football if you don't want it to, but if does then the best of British luck to you. We won't ask questions, and nor should anyone else. Vote shamers will be denounced.
  • Voting will be conducted between 0700 and 1900 AEDST unless otherwise noted
  • You must cast a valid vote for every match that day or none of your votes on that day's matches will count (I'll try and remind you where possible by there are no guarantees).
  • You must pick a winner in every match up. No half votes, no "I can't split them". Yes you can, and you must.
  • Non-MFC fans are more than welcome to vote as long as you follow all other rules
  • Players are more than welcome to use social media, real media or paid advertising to promote themselves. Outright bribery is not permitted.
  • Any players left on social media may vote for themselves as long as they also vote in the other matchups of the day
  • In the event of a tie both players will advance to the next round, except in the case of the Grand Final where a replay will be held the following day.
  • If a match features three or more players and two or more tie for the most votes they will advance with all other players eliminated.
  • We reserve the right to refuse an excessive number of multiple votes from the same person using multiple accounts
  • Voting will be conducted in an open format via Twitter, BigFooty, Demonland and Facebook. If you're intensely private or hate social media you can email votes daily via demonblogger AT and I'll add you to the list of email voters.
  • Harley Bennell is a preliminary entrant. If he isn't an officially listed Melbourne player by Friday 24 January he will be ineligible to participate
  • The decision of the Demonbracket Organising Committee is final. Unless somebody takes us to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lucerne.
Tournament schedule
Friday 24 January - Live draw from 18:00 AEDST
Monday 27 January - Preliminary Round/Round 1, part 1
Tuesday 28 January - Preliminary Round/Round 1, part 2
Wednesday 29 January - Round 1, part 3
Thursday 30 January - Round 2, part 1
Friday 31 January - Round 2, part 2
Monday 3 February - Round 2, part 3
Tuesday 4 February - Round 2, part 4
Wednesday 5 February - Round 3, part 1
Thursday 6 February - Round 3, part 2
Friday 7 February - Quarter Final day
Monday 10 February - Semi Final day
Tuesday 11 February - Grand Final day

Honour Roll
Nathan Jones remains the only two time winner, but all three of the top seeds are looking for their second title so this could be the year for another multiple winner.

2012 - James Frawley d. Nathan Jones
2013 - Tom McDonald d. Mitch Clark
2014 - Nathan Jones d. Jack Watts
2015 - Nathan Jones [2] d. Dom Tyson
2016 - Jack Viney d. Nathan Jones
2017 - Max Gawn d. Jack Viney
2018 - Neville Jetta d. Clayton Oliver 
2019 - Clayton Oliver d. Neville Jetta

Seeded to Round 3
1. Clayton Oliver (reigning champion/best and fairest winner)
2. Max Gawn (best and fairest winner)
3. Jack Viney (next higher best and fairest finisher)

Seeded to Round 2 (next five highest best and fairest finishers)
4. James Harmes
5. Christian Petracca
6. Bayley Fritsch
7. Christian Salem
8. Angus Brayshaw

Enter at Round 2 (next 11 most total MFC games)
9. Nathan Jones
10. Tom McDonald
11. Neville Jetta
12. Oscar McDonald
13. Alex Neal-Bullen
14. Jayden Hunt
15. Michael Hibberd
16. Jake Melksham
17. Mitch Hannan
18. Josh Wagner
19. Aaron vandenBerg

Enter at Round 1 (remainder of MFC senior players)
20. Sam Weideman
21. Charlie Spargo
22. Jake Lever
23. Marty Hore
24. Jay Lockhart
25. Corey Wagner
26. Joel Smith
27. Harrison Petty
28. Oskar Baker
29. Steven May
30. Braydon Preuss
31. Kyle Dunkley
32. Tom Sparrow
33. Kade Kolodjashnij
34. Kade Chandler

Preliminary Round (new draftees, trades, and next lowest games total)
35. Ed Langdon
36. Adam Tomlinson
37. James Jordon
38. Toby Bedford
39. Austin Bradtke
40. Aaron Nietschke
41. Luke Jackson
42. Kysaih Pickett
43. Trent Rivers
44. Mitch Brown
45. Harley Bennell (if signed by Friday January 24)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Crack the sads here... (to keep out nuffies, comments will show after approval by the Demonblog ARC)