Monday 25 January 2016

Demonbracket 2016 - your full voting guide

Our balls have dropped, and we're ready to go for Australia's #1 bracket based sporting competition.

Read the Demonbracket 2016 preview.

Competition rules
  • The voting criteria for each match-up is your personal business. It need not having anything to do with football if you don't want it to, but if you do then good luck to you. We won't ask questions, and nor should anyone else
    • If anybody vote shames call them a $cully and go about your business however you like
  • Voting will be conducted between 7am and 7pm AEDST unless otherwise noted
  • You must cast a valid vote for every match that day or none of your votes on that day's matches will count (I'll try and remind you where possible by there are no guarantees).
  • You must pick a winner in every match up. No half votes, no "I can't split them". Yes you can, and you must.
  • Non-MFC fans are more than welcome to vote as long as you follow all other rules
  • Players are more than welcome to use social media, real media or paid advertising to promote themselves. Outright bribery, however, is not permitted.
  • Players may vote for themselves as long as they also vote in the other matchups of the day as per the above rules
  • In the event of a tie both players will advance to the next round, except in the case of the Grand Final where a replay will be held the following day.
  • If a match features three or more players and two or more tie for the most votes they will advance with all other players eliminated.
  • We reserve the right to refuse an excessive number of multiple votes from the same person using multiple accounts
  • Voting will once again be conducted in an open format (Twitter, BigFooty. and Facebook) to keep it interesting but if you're really keen on your privacy or have an intense hatred of social media you can email me daily via demonblogger AT
  • The decision of the Demonbracket Organising Committee is final. Unless somebody takes us to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lucerne.
  • Speaking of the Court of Arbitration we're not a signatory to WADA, so Jake Melksham remains eligible to compete in the bracket despite being banned for a year.
The Draw

Preliminary Round

Monday 1 February

Christian Petracca d. Clayton Oliver 67-10 
Jayden Hunt d. Liam Hulett 52-25 
Tomas Bugg d. Jay Kennedy-Harris 43-34
Viv Michie d. Jake Melksham 53-18
Sam Weideman d. Josh Wagner 60-11
Max King d. Heritier Lumumba 38-33

Tuesday 2 February

James Harmes d. Ben Newton 70-9
Angus Brayshaw d. Billy Stretch 69-10
Oscar McDonald d. Joel Smith 68-11
Ben Kennedy d. Mitch King 54-23 
Aaron vandenBerg d. Mitch White 73-4
Christian Salem d. Alex Neal-Bullen d. Sam Frost 59-14-4

Round 1

Wednesday 3 February
1. Nathan Jones d. Matt Jones 86-2
Max King d. Dean Terlich 63-25
James Harmes d Tomas Bugg 64-24
8. Lynden Dunn d. Sam Weideman 70-18

Thursday 4 February
5. Jesse Hogan d. Chris Dawes 99-1 
Cameron Pedersen d. Jake Spencer 81-19 
Neville Jetta d. Aaron vandenBerg 65-35 
Max Gawn d. 6. Tom McDonald 63-37

Friday 5 February
3. Jack Viney d. Oscar McDonald 100-3
Jack Trengove d. Ben Kennedy 95-8 
Christian Salem d. Jack Grimes 79-24
Jack Watts d. 6. Colin Garland 53-50

Monday 8 February
Dom Tyson d. 7. Jeff Garlett 63-37  
Dean Kent d. Jayden Hunt 97-3 
Angus Brayshaw d. Christian Petracca 89-11 
2. Bernie Vince d. Viv Michie 97-3 

Round 2

Tuesday 9 February

1. Nathan Jones d. Max King 91-5
8. Lynden Dunn d. James Harmes 68-28
5. Jesse Hogan d. Cameron Pedersen 87-9
Max Gawn d. Neville Jetta 71-25

Wednesday 10 February

3. Jack Viney d. Jack Trengove 81-15

Christian Salem d. Jack Watts 60-36
Dom Tyson d. Dean Kent 49-47
2. Bernie Vince d. Angus Brayshaw 61-35

Quarter Finals

Thursday 11 February

1. Nathan Jones d. 8. Lynden Dunn 94-16

5. Jesse Hogan d. Max Gawn 61-49

Friday 12 February

3. Jack Viney d. Christian Salem 78-19

2. Bernie Vince d. Dom Tyson 80-17 

Semi Final

Monday 15 February

1. Nathan Jones d. 5. Jesse Hogan 54-52

3. Jack Viney d. 2. Bernie Vince 65-41


Tuesday 16 February

3. Jack Viney d. 1. Nathan Jones 53-47