Friday, 25 January 2019

Demonbracket 2019 - your full voting guide

Footy's first Grand Slam is back. The tournament where we offer you the chance to make an arbitrary decision on which MFC player you like best in daily one-on-one matchups.

  • The voting criteria for each match-up is your personal business. It need not have anything to do with football if you don't want it to, but if does then the best of British luck to you. We won't ask questions, and nor should anyone else. Vote shamers will be denounced.
  • Voting will be conducted between 0700 and 1900 AEDST unless otherwise noted
  • You must cast a valid vote for every match that day or none of your votes on that day's matches will count (I'll try and remind you where possible by there are no guarantees).
  • You must pick a winner in every match up. No half votes, no "I can't split them". Yes you can, and you must.
  • Non-MFC fans are more than welcome to vote as long as you follow all other rules
  • Players are more than welcome to use social media, real media or paid advertising to promote themselves. Outright bribery is not permitted.
  • Players may vote for themselves as long as they also vote in the other matchups of the day
  • In the event of a tie both players will advance to the next round, except in the case of the Grand Final where a replay will be held the following day.
  • If a match features three or more players and two or more tie for the most votes they will advance with all other players eliminated.
  • We reserve the right to refuse an excessive number of multiple votes from the same person using multiple accounts
  • Voting is conducted in an open format (TwitterBigFooty. Demonland and Facebook) to keep it interesting but if you're really keen on your privacy or have an intense hatred of social media you can email me daily via demonblogger AT
  • The decision of the Demonbracket Organising Committee is final. Unless somebody takes us to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lucerne.
Honour Roll
This will be the eighth tournament, with the last six winners still on our list. McDonald, Jones, Viney, Gawn and Jetta go again, with all number of promising competitors threatening to rumble them.

2012 - James Frawley d. Nathan Jones
2013 - Tom McDonald d. Mitch Clark
2014 - Nathan Jones d. Jack Watts
2015 - Nathan Jones d. Dom Tyson
2016 - Jack Viney d. Nathan Jones
2017 - Max Gawn d. Jack Viney
2018 - Neville Jetta d. Clayton Oliver 

The draw
Preliminary and first round matches will be drawn LIVE on @demonblog from 19:00 on Friday 25 January.

The field

Seeds (1-3 enter at Round 3, 4-8 enter at Round 2)
1. Neville Jetta
2. Max Gawn
3. Clayton Oliver
4. James Harmes
5. Nathan Jones
6. Tom McDonald
7. Angus Brayshaw
8. Jake Melksham

Enter at Round 2
9. Jack Viney
10. Jeff Garlett
11. Christian Salem
12. Christian Petracca
13. Oscar McDonald
14. Alex Neal-Bullen
15. Sam Frost
16. Jayden Hunt
17. Jordan Lewis
18. Michael Hibberd
19. Billy Stretch

Enter at Round 1
20. Aaron vandenBerg
21. Mitch Hannan
22. Jay Kennedy-Harris
23. Josh Wagner
24. Bayley Fritsch
25. Sam Weideman
26. Charlie Spargo
27. Jake Lever
28. Joel Smith 
29. Tim Smith
30. Corey Maynard
31. Harrison Petty
32. Declan Keilty
33. Oskar Baker
34. Braydon Preuss
35. Steven May
36. Kade Kolodjashnij

Enter in Preliminary Round
37. Austin Bradtke
38. Guy Walker
39. Tom Sparrow
40. James Jordon
41. Aaron Nietschke
42. Marty Hore
43. Toby Bedford
44. Corey Wagner
45. Kade Chandler

The tournament

Demonbracket VIII commences on 07:00 on Monday 28 January. The full match schedule (voting open from 07:00 to 19:00 AEDT) is:

Monday 28 January - Preliminary Round/Round 1, part 1
Tuesday 29 January - Preliminary Round/Round 1, part 2
Wednesday 30 January - Round 1, part 3
Thursday 31 January - Round 2, part 1
Friday 1 February - Round 2, part 2
Monday 4 February - Round 2, part 3
Tuesday 5 February - Round 2, part 4
Wednesday 6 February - Round 3, part 1
Thursday 7 February - Round 3, part 2
Friday 8 February - Quarter Final day
Monday 11 February - Semi Final day
Tuesday 12 February - Grand Final day

Preliminary Round

James Jordon d. Kade Chandler 82-51
Toby Bedford d. Aaron Nietschke 84-49
Corey Wagner d. Austin Bradtke 84-49
Tom Sparrow d. Marty Hore and Guy Walker 77-45-6

Round 1

Tim Smith d. James Jordon 100-35
Joel Smith d. Corey Maynard 100-27
Josh Wagner d. Harrison Petty 79-49
Bayley Fritsch d. Oskar Baker 120-8
Mitch Hannan d. Jay Kennedy-Harris 121-12

Aaron vandenBerg d. Kade Kolodjashnij 100-35
Braydon Preuss d. Tom Sparrow 84-51
Charlie Spargo d. Declan Keilty 127-6
Sam Weideman d. Corey Wagner 133-2
Jake Lever d. Toby Bedford 130-5

Round 2

Jordan Lewis d. Tim Smith 104-42
Alex Neal-Bullen d. Oscar McDonald 84-59
8. Jake Melksham d. Christian Petracca 79-67
6. Tom McDonald d. Mitch Hannan 131-6

Billy Stretch d. Jeff Garlett 84-53
Jayden Hunt d. Braydon Preuss 105-32
4. James Harmes d. Jake Lever 98-45 
Bayley Fritsch d. Aaron vandenberg 94-49

Charlie Spargo d. Sam Frost 82-61 
Jack Viney d. 5. Nathan Jones 97-46
Michael Hibberd d. Josh Wagner 139-7
Christian Salem d. Joel Smith 133-10 
7. Angus Brayshaw d. Sam Weideman 122-21

Round 3

1. Neville Jetta d. Jordan Lewis 135-4
8. Jake Melksham d. Alex Neal-Bullen 95-44
6. Tom McDonald d. Billy Stretch 134-5
4. James Harmes d. Jayden Hunt 119-28

3. Clayton Oliver d. Bayley Fritsch 138-9
Jack Viney d. Charlie Spargo 134-5
2. Max Gawn d. Michael Hibberd 127-20
7. Angus Brayshaw d. Christian Salem 116-31

Quarter Final

1. Neville Jetta d. 8. Jake Melksham 144-16
6. Tom McDonald d. 4. James Harmes 114-46
3. Clayton Oliver d. Jack Viney 110-50
2. Max Gawn d. 7. Angus Brayshaw 115-45

Semi Final

1. Neville Jetta d. 6. Tom McDonald 114-62
3. Clayton Oliver d. 2. Max Gawn 96-80


3. Clayton Oliver d. Neville Jetta 122-112

No comments:

Post a Comment

Crack the sads here... (to keep out nuffies, comments will show after approval by the Demonblog ARC)