Monday 15 February 2010

Pre-Season Preview Spectacular 2010

Exactly one year on from the Demonblog TAB swinging its doors open for the first time we're back again. Get your chequebook out, it's time for some outrageous predictions.

Overall I think we can expect much better than last year, but I wouldn't be getting too excited yet. Some people were spotted talking about slipping into the finals shortly before they were spotted hooking into a crack pipe. Stranger things have happened (97/98?) but I can't see it happening. Anyway, that's all ages away - lets start with the most prestigious prize in international sports;

Allen Jakovich Medal for Player of the Year
Previous Winners
2005 - Travis Johnstone
2006 - Brock McLean
2007 - Nathan Jones
2008 - Cameron Bruce
2009 - Aaron Davey

For the fifth straight year (and have I really being doing this for five years?) the defending champion fails to back up. You will also note that the 2005 winner left in 2007 and the 2006 winner left in 2009 - so look for Nathan Jones to walk out at the end of next season. Bear the curse in mind if you're looking to get on Davey for the first ever repeat win.

Bail, Bartram, Bate, Bell, Bennell, Blease, Bruce, Cheney, Davey, Dunn, Fitzpatrick, Frawley, Garland, Gawn, Green, Grimes, Gysberts, Jamar, Jetta, Johnson, Jones, Jurrah, MacDonald, Maric, Martin, McDonald, McNamara, Miller, Moloney, Morton, Petterd, Rivers, Scully, Strauss, Sylvia, Tapscott, Trengove, Warnock, Watts, Wonaeamirri

Healey, Hughes, McKenzie, Meesen, Newton, Spencer

The most even market ever. I can barely separate the top four and all have their own claims to winning it, and then you've got the likes of Jones, the Jurrahcane and Morton floating around. Then look down to the line with Bate, Grimes and Frawley - the first two have threatened to turn into guns but have suffered with injury, and the third has turned up this season built like a Sherman Tank. Perhaps you fancy one, or both, of SCULLGOVE to double up and sweep the awards? This one could go anywhere.

$3.50 - Davey, Green
$4 - Moloney, Sylvia
$5 - Jones
$9 - Jurrah, Morton
$15 - Bate, Frawley, Grimes
$20 - McDonald, Rivers, Trengove
$25 - Bennell, Jamar, Miller, Scully, Warnock
$35 - Martin, Petterd
$50 - Cheney, Jetta, MacDonald, Wonaeamirri
$80 - Watts
$85 - Bartram, Dunn, Garland, Gysberts, Maric, McNamara, Strauss
$125 - Bell, Blease, Johnson, McKenzie
$250 - Tapscott, Newton, Spencer
$500 - Bail, Fitzpatrick, Gawn
$1001 - Healey, Hughes, Meesen

Marcus Seecamp Medal for Defender of the Year

Previous Winners (Most votes for a defender in the overall tally. Must play the vast majority of games in the backline to qualify.)
2005 - Nathan Caroll/Ryan Ferguson
2006 - Jared Rivers
2007 - Paul Wheatley
2008 - Matthew Whelan
2009 - James Frawley

Frawley came from second last to take the title last year and goes in as red hot favourite this year.

$2 - Frawley
$6 - Rivers
$13 - Bennell, Warnock
$16 - MacDonald, Cheney
$30 - MacNamara, Bail
$50 - Dunn, Petterd, Martin (all unlikely to qualify)
$15 - Any other player

Jeff Hilton Medal for Rookie Of The Year
Previous Winners (Highest player in the overall tally to play their first game that season OR to have played only in the last three rounds of the preceding season.)

2005 - No players eligible
2006 - Matthew Bate
2007 - Ricky Petterd/Michael Newton
2008 - Cale Morton
2009 - Jack Grimes

Grimes controversially beat Jurrah home for the award last year after qualifying by playing his one game of 2007 in the last three weeks of the season. This year I'm extending that to the last month of the season - as long as you make your debut in that time you're still eligible to win the Hilton. Good news for The Half a Minute Man Rohan Bail and Tom McNamara who stay in the hunt.

$4 - Jack Trengove
$6 - Tom Scully
$12 - James Strauss
$18 - Sam Blease, Jordan Gysberts, Rohan Bail, Tom McNamara
$22 - Luke Tapscott
$25 - Jack Fitzpatrick
$40 - Max Gawn
$50 - Hughes, Healey

Strawbs O'Dwyer Medal for Ruckman Of The Year

Previous Winners
2005 - Jeff White
2006 - Jeff White (2)
2007 - Jeff White (3)
2008 - Paul Johnson
2009 - Mark Jamar

Last year Jamar was described as "servicable in the ruck [but] he does bugger all around the ground", and so it looked on the basis of six completed seasons. When he spent most of the first half of the year injured his odds rose even higher but something amazing happened - he came back to play his best games ever, before being injured, then getting even better. Will we ever forget that fifth goal against Carlton? He's still under some sort of injury cloud, but he played well in the intra-club and frankly if he doesn't score I don't see how many of the other ruckmen are going to.

$1.50 - Mark Jamar
$5 - Paul Johnson
$7 - Jake Spencer, Stefan Martin (who may not qualify)
$18 - Max Gawn
$50 - Meesen, Fitzpatrick
$30 - Any other player

Top Goalkicker

$4 - Jurrah
$9 - Miller
$14 - Petterd, Bate
$17 - Davey, Green
$25 - Martin, Sylvia, Wonaeamirri
$29 - Moloney, Watts, Maric
$40 - Jamar
$65 - Johnson, Newton
$100 - Hughes
$25 - Any other player

PhotobucketThe Tombstone Award for First Long Term InjuryPhotobucket

$2 - Any played not listed
$5 - Rivers, Moloney, Wonaeamirri
$10 - Blease, Jamar
$14 - Watts
$15 - Newton

Actually, compared to less year that was less than spectacular. If you have issues with problem gambling call the Gambling Helpline on 1800 858 858.

1 comment:

  1. No Bruce in the Jakovich. I'd slot him in around the $15-$20 mark.

    Also $17 Green for top goal kicker is great value.


Crack the sads here... (to keep out nuffies, comments will show after approval by the Demonblog ARC)