Monday, 8 January 2018

Demonbracket 2018 preview

In many ways January is the best time of the year to be a Melbourne fan. You haven't heart your heart torn out and dangled in front of your face before you die yet, a free public holiday where you get to adopt one of two extreme political views, and the start of another Demonbracket tournament.

This year's tournament - which will begin on Monday 29 January - marks the seventh time where fans have gathered to cast arbitrary votes on their favourite Melbourne players. Results from previous years:

2012 - James Frawley d. Nathan Jones
2013 - Tom McDonald d. Mitch Clark
2014 - Nathan Jones d. Jack Watts
2015 - Nathan Jones d. Dom Tyson
2016 - Jack Viney d. Nathan Jones
2017 - Max Gawn d. Jack Viney

Mark thy calendar with these important dates for the 2018 edition:

Friday 26 January - The competition draw - sponsored by Union Carbide and Exxon - conducted live on Twitter from 18:00. Unless you're a celebrity and want to do it via Facebook Live as well, in that case if you're willing to work for free please get in touch.

Monday 29 and Tuesday 30 January - Preliminary Round
Wednesday 31 January to Monday 5 February - Round 1
Tuesday 6 February to Wednesday 7 February - Round 2
Thursday 8 February to Friday 9 February - Quarter Finals
Monday 10 February - Semi Final
Tuesday 11 February - Grand Final

And now, to officially launch this year's tournament - it's Diana Ross having a kick in a shockingly low-fi video.

  • The voting criteria for each match-up is your personal business. It need not have anything to do with football if you don't want it to, but if does then the best of British luck to you. We won't ask questions, and nor should anyone else. If anyone tries to vote shame you denounce them on the internet.
  • Voting will be conducted between 0700 and 1900 AEDST unless otherwise noted
  • You must cast a valid vote for every match that day or none of your votes on that day's matches will count (I'll try and remind you where possible by there are no guarantees).
  • You must pick a winner in every match up. No half votes, no "I can't split them". Yes you can, and you must.
  • Non-MFC fans are more than welcome to vote as long as you follow all other rules
  • Players are more than welcome to use social media, real media or paid advertising to promote themselves. Outright bribery is not permitted.
  • Players may vote for themselves as long as they also vote in the other matchups of the day as per the above rules
  • In the event of a tie both players will advance to the next round, except in the case of the Grand Final where a replay will be held the following day.
  • If a match features three or more players and two or more tie for the most votes they will advance with all other players eliminated.
  • We reserve the right to refuse an excessive number of multiple votes from the same person using multiple accounts
  • Voting is conducted in an open format (TwitterBigFooty. and Facebook) to keep it interesting but if you're really keen on your privacy or have an intense hatred of social media you can email me daily via demonblogger AT
  • The decision of the Demonbracket Organising Committee is final. Unless somebody takes us to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lucerne.
The seeds

As usual the defending champion is seeded first, followed by the top seven survivors from the previous year's Best and Fairest. Ties are broken on MFC games played.

1. Max Gawn
2. Clayton Oliver
3. Jack Viney
4. Nathan Jones
5. Jordan Lewis
6. Neville Jetta
7. Michael Hibberd
8. Christian Petracca

Non-seeded players with a bye to Round 1
The 12 byes into the first round are awarded based on the most MFC games played by the remaining contestants.

9. Tom McDonald

10. Bernie Vince
11. Dom Tyson
12. Cameron Pedersen
13. Jeff Garlett
14. Dean Kent
15. Jesse Hogan
16. Christian Salem
17. James Harmes
18. Jayden Hunt
19. Oscar McDonald
20. Angus Brayshaw

Players entered in the Preliminary Round (12 regular matches)

Order number determined by total games then order of addition to the list.

21. Billy Stretch
22. Sam Frost
23. Alex Neal-Bullen
24. Jay Kennedy-Harris
25. Aaron vandenBerg
26. Tomas Bugg
27. Josh Wagner
28. Mitch Hannan
29. Jake Melksham
30. Sam Weideman
31. Joel Smith
32. Tim Smith
33. Corey Maynard
34. Mitch King
35. Pat McKenna
36. Dion Johnstone
37. Declan Keilty
38. Lachlan Filipovic
39. Jake Lever
40. Harley Balic
41. Charlie Spargo
42. Bayley Fritsch
43. Harrison Petty
44. Oskar Baker

No comments:

Post a comment