Friday 27 January 2017

Demonbracket 2017 - Your full voting guide

Democracy has had a bad run recently, but Demonbracket 2017 is refreshingly free of Russian influence and ready to begin on Monday 30 January.

This is the sixth time the competition has been held, and the draw was conducted under government supervision at an undisclosed location on the morning on Friday 27 January 2017. For more on the history of the tournament, please consult our preview show.

  • The voting criteria for each match-up is your personal business. It need not have anything to do with football if you don't want it to, but if does then the best of British luck to you. We won't ask questions, and nor should anyone else. If anyone tries to vote shame you denounce them on the internet.
  • Voting will be conducted between 0700 and 1900 AEDST unless otherwise noted
  • You must cast a valid vote for every match that day or none of your votes on that day's matches will count (I'll try and remind you where possible by there are no guarantees).
  • You must pick a winner in every match up. No half votes, no "I can't split them". Yes you can, and you must.
  • Non-MFC fans are more than welcome to vote as long as you follow all other rules
  • Players are more than welcome to use social media, real media or paid advertising to promote themselves. Outright bribery is not permitted.
  • Players may vote for themselves as long as they also vote in the other matchups of the day as per the above rules
  • In the event of a tie both players will advance to the next round, except in the case of the Grand Final where a replay will be held the following day.
  • If a match features three or more players and two or more tie for the most votes they will advance with all other players eliminated.
  • We reserve the right to refuse an excessive number of multiple votes from the same person using multiple accounts
  • Voting will once again be conducted in an open format (TwitterBigFooty. and Facebook) to keep it interesting but if you're really keen on your privacy or have an intense hatred of social media you can email me daily via demonblogger AT
  • The decision of the Demonbracket Organising Committee is final. Unless somebody takes us to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lucerne.
2017 specific rule
  • The organising committee has determined that as Heritier Lumumba will remain a senior listed player in 2017 that he may participate in this event. Previously unavailable players to compete include Maia Westrupp, Jesse Hogan and Jake Melksham. If you don't like it don't vote for him.
The tournament

Preliminary Round

Monday 30 January
Clayton Oliver d. Mitch White 106-4 
Alex Neal-Bullen d. Heritier Lumumba 102-8 
Jake Melksham d. Mitch Hannan 72-38
Josh Wagner d. Liam Hulett 76-29 
Oscar McDonald d. Tim Smith 88-17 
Declan Keilty d. Corey Maynard 56-4

Tuesday 31 January
Christian Petracca d. Jay Kennedy-Harris 70-36
Ben Kennedy d. Pat McKenna 81-25
Tomas Bugg d. Sam Weideman and Michael Hibberd 59-43-4
Sam Frost d. Mitch King 101-7
Jayden Hunt d. Lachlan Filipovic 102-6
Jordan Lewis d. Joel Smith and Dion Johnstone 83-18-7

Round 1

Wednesday 1 February
1. Jack Viney d. Jack Trengove 101-12
Clayton Oliver vs Aaron vandenBerg 100-13
Tomas Bugg vs Jordan Lewis 64-49
8. Jesse Hogan d. Oscar McDonald 106-7

Thursday 2 February
5. Jack Watts d. Neville Jetta 86-26
Cameron Pedersen d. Jake Spencer 96-16
Jeff Garlett d. Josh Wagner 78-34
4. Dom Tyson d. Alex Neal-Bullen 97-15

Friday 3 February
3. Max Gawn d. Ben Kennedy 104-6
Angus Brayshaw d. Christian Salem 59-51
Jayden Hunt d. Colin Garland 90-20
6. Tom McDonald d. Declan Keilty 106-4

Monday 6 February
Christian Petracca d. 7. Bernie Vince 59-50
Dean Kent d. Jake Melksham 102-7
Billy Stretch d. Sam Frost 75-34
2. Nathan Jones d. James Harmes 101-8

Round 2
Tuesday 7 February
1. Jack Viney d. Clayton Oliver 84-24
8. Jesse Hogan d. Tomas Bugg 73-35
5. Jack Watts d. Cameron Pedersen 93-15
4. Dom Tyson d. Jeff Garlett 88-20

Wednesday 8 February
3. Max Gawn d. Angus Brayshaw 110-11
Jayden Hunt d. 6. Tom McDonald 85-36
Christian Petracca d. Dean Kent 85-36
2. Nathan Jones d. Billy Stretch 98-23

Quarter Finals - Thursday 9 and Friday 10 February

1. Jack Viney d. 8. Jesse Hogan 76-44
5. Jack Watts d. 4. Dom Tyson 93-27
3. Max Gawn d. Jayden Hunt 84-27
2. Nathan Jones d. Christian Petracca 80-31

Semi Finals - Monday 13 February
1. Jack Viney d. 5. Jack Watts 67-66
3. Max Gawn d. 2. Nathan Jones 96-37

Final - Tuesday 14 February

3. Max Gawn d. 1. Jack Viney 106-36

No comments:

Post a Comment

Crack the sads here... (to keep out nuffies, comments will show after approval by the Demonblog ARC)