Tuesday, 3 January 2017

Demonbracket 2017 preview

What's more exciting about the AFL pre-season than making an arbitrary decision about which player you prefer? It's certainly better than waiting patiently for the first person to do their knee in a pothole during pre-season training.

Yes, it's almost time for our sixth (!) installment of Demonbracket - the off-season tradition that brings a small part of the fanbase of a lightly supported club to a standstill. The anticipation is so palpable that I completely forgot to write this post for the entire month of December.

Here's how we got here...

Honour Roll

2012 - James Frawley d. Nathan Jones
2013 - Tom McDonald d. Mitch Clark

2014 - Nathan Jones d. Jack Watts
2015 - Nathan Jones d. Dom Tyson
2016 - Jack Viney d. Nathan Jones

We learnt our lesson about ending the tournament too close to a game from 2013 when Captain Sizzle stormed to the title on a wave of public support then was still on a high flubbed his first disposal the next night - so with the first game in the Jailbait Community Shield on Saturday February 18 this tournament is scheduled to start on Monday 30 January and end Tuesday 14 February. This gives the finalists a few days to either bar down or get over their defeat before the real stuff starts, and unlike the AFL pre-season somebody comes out of it with a championship.

What a Valentine's Day it will be this year, with votes flying in from all corners of the globe. Tell your significant other/various polyamorous lovers to "get stuffed" while you hang out nervously waiting for the results shortly after 1900hrs.

Last year Jack Viney ended the 24 month reign of the man known around AAMI Park as 'Mr. Demonbracket' Nathan Jones, but as the Dees clamber out of the toilet towards what we all hope will be long-term respectability he'll face a difficult task in retaining the championship.

The draws for the preliminary and first rounds will be conducted live on Twitter @demonblog from 0900 on Friday 27 January. If you are a celebrity of any level higher than Esme Watson from A Country Practice and would like to dip your hand into our balls please get in contact. Ideally we'd like to appoint somebody who provides the flair, panache and future taste for world domination displayed in the drawing of the 1992 Rumbelows Cup quarter finals:

And now, the all important rules that are the same every year:

  • The voting criteria for each match-up is your personal business. It need not have anything to do with football if you don't want it to, but if does then the best of British luck to you. We won't ask questions, and nor should anyone else. If anyone tries to vote shame you denounce them on the internet.
  • Voting will be conducted between 0700 and 1900 AEDST unless otherwise noted
  • You must cast a valid vote for every match that day or none of your votes on that day's matches will count (I'll try and remind you where possible by there are no guarantees).
  • You must pick a winner in every match up. No half votes, no "I can't split them". Yes you can, and you must.
  • Non-MFC fans are more than welcome to vote as long as you follow all other rules
  • Players are more than welcome to use social media, real media or paid advertising to promote themselves. Outright bribery is not permitted.
  • Players may vote for themselves as long as they also vote in the other matchups of the day as per the above rules
  • In the event of a tie both players will advance to the next round, except in the case of the Grand Final where a replay will be held the following day.
  • If a match features three or more players and two or more tie for the most votes they will advance with all other players eliminated.
  • We reserve the right to refuse an excessive number of multiple votes from the same person using multiple accounts
  • Voting will once again be conducted in an open format (Twitter, BigFooty. and Facebook) to keep it interesting but if you're really keen on your privacy or have an intense hatred of social media you can email me daily via demonblogger AT gmail.com
  • The decision of the Demonbracket Organising Committee is final. Unless somebody takes us to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lucerne.
2017 specific rule
  • The organising committee has determined that as Heritier Lumumba will remain a senior listed player in 2017 that he may participate in this event. Previously unavailable players to compete include Maia Westrupp, Jesse Hogan and Jake Melksham. If you don't like it don't vote for him.
The seeds

As usual the defending champion is seeded first, followed by the top seven survivors from the previous year's Best and Fairest. In this case it's made easy, because the Demonbracket 2016 voters cast an eye to the future with their votes and gave Jack Viney his first big win of the season.

1. Jack Viney
2. Nathan Jones
3. Max Gawn
4. Dom Tyson
5. Jack Watts
6. Tom McDonald
7. Bernie Vince
8. Jesse Hogan

Non-seeded players with a bye to Round 1

The 12 byes into the first round are awarded based on the most games played by the remaining contestants.

9. Colin Garland

10. Neville Jetta
11. Jack Trengove
12. Dean Kent
13. Cameron Pedersen
14. Jeff Garlett
15. Jake Spencer
16. Angus Brayshaw
17. Christian Salem
18. Aaron vandenBerg
19. James Harmes
20. Billy Stretch

Players entered in the Preliminary Round (10 regular matches and two triple threats)

Order number determined by total games then order of addition to the list.

21. Heritier Lumumba
22. Jay Kennedy-Harris

23. Jayden Hunt
24. Sam Frost
25. Tomas Bugg
26. Christian Petracca
27. Oscar McDonald
28. Ben Kennedy
29. Alex Neal-Bullen
30. Josh Wagner
31. Clayton Oliver
32. Mitch White
33. Sam Weideman
34. Jake Melksham
35. Joel Smith
36. Liam Hulett
37. Mitchell King
38. Corey Maynard
39. Jordan Lewis
40. Michael Hibberd
41. Pat McKenna
42. Mitch Hannan
43. Dion Johnstone
44. Lachlan Filipovic
45. Tim Smith
46. Declan Keilty

The tournament

Preliminary Round

Monday 30 January (0700 to 1300)
Clayton Oliver vs Mitch White
Heritier Lumumba vs Alex Neal-Bullen
Jake Melksham vs Mitch Hannan

Monday 30 January (1300 to 1900)
Liam Hulett vs Josh Wagner
Tim Smith vs Oscar McDonald
Corey Maynard vs Declan Keilty

Tuesday 31 January (0700 to 1300)
Christian Petracca vs Jay Kennedy-Harris
Ben Kennedy vs Pat McKenna
Sam Weideman vs Tomas Bugg vs Michael Hibberd

Tuesday 31 January (1300 to 1900)
Mitchell King vs Sam Frost
Lachlan Filipovic vs Jayden Hunt
Joel Smith vs Dion Johnstone vs Jordan Lewis

Round 1

Wednesday 1 February
1. Jack Viney vs Jack Trengove
Clayton Oliver OR Mitch White vs Aaron vandenBerg
Sam Weideman OR Tomas Bugg OR Michael Hibberd vs Joel Smith OR Dion Johnstone OR Jordan Lewis
Tim Smith OR Oscar McDonald vs 8. Jesse Hogan

Thursday 2 February
5. Jack Watts vs Neville Jetta
Jake Spencer vs Cameron Pedersen
Jeff Garlett vs Liam Hulett OR Josh Wagner
Heritier Lumumba OR Alex Neal-Bullen vs 4. Dom Tyson

Friday 3 February
3. Max Gawn vs Ben Kennedy OR Pat McKenna
Christian Salem vs Angus Brayshaw
Colin Garland vs Lachlan Filipovic OR Jayden Hunt
Corey Maynard OR Declan Keilty vs 6. Tom McDonald

Monday 6 February
7. Bernie Vince vs Christian Petracca OR Jay Kennedy-Harris
Jake Melksham OR Mitch Hannan vs Dean Kent
Mitchell King OR Sam Frost vs Billy Stretch
James Harmes vs 2. Nathan Jones

Round 2 - Tuesday 7 and Wednesday 8 February
Quarter Finals - Thursday 9 and Friday 10 February
Semi Finals - Monday 13 February
Final - Tuesday 14 February

No comments:

Post a Comment

Crack the sads here... (to keep out nuffies, comments will show after approval by the Demonblog ARC)